Call Now To Schedule an Appointment: 908-725-3200 | Text us for fast bookings: 732-991-5943

Frequently Asked Questions


 

Frequently Asked Questions

 
What happens if my permit is lost, stolen or damaged?
 
It is important to know, an original permit is required while practice driving and on the day of your road test! If your permit was lost or stolen, we suggest you contact your local police department to report it to avoid someone else using it and contact your driving school in order to get a replacement. If it is damaged in any way, you will need a duplicate and we will be happy to help you with the paperwork. A 16 year old must get a duplicate from their driving school.
 

 
How does the insurance work?
 
Good question! During your driving lessons you are fully insured with our driving school under our policy, which is the maximum allowed! After completing 6 hours we give all students, teens and adults, and insurance discount certificate to present to your insurance company. Contact your provider on what discounts will apply to you while you have a permit and then once you receive your license.
 

 
What type of car is acceptable for my road test?
 
The break must be accessible for the tester to reach in case of an emergency. If you have a console in between the two front seats, there must be an emergency break. If there is no console, the examiner must feel he/she is able to reach the brake or you will be rejected. It is their discretion. You cannot use a rental car. Remember to bring proper insurance and registration of the vehicle you are using. Automatic or stick shift is allowed.
 

 
If I am 17, do I have to wait the full 6 months to take a road test?
 
Yes, unfortunately under the new GDL Law, if you are between 17 and 21 you must wait 6 months before you can take your road test. During this time, we encourage all students to take lessons to practice the skill of driving; however, it will not get you a sooner appointment.
 

 
If I am 16, do I have to go to DMV with an Instructor for the written exam or can I go with a parent?
 
According to state law, if you did not pass it in school or your school does not offer Driver’s Ed, a 16-year-old student must be accompanied by a driving instructor at Motor Vehicles in order to take the written test. You cannot go with a parent.
 

 
If I am 16, what times can I drive and with whom while I have my permit?
 
Students who are age 16 can drive from 5 am to 11 pm. You can drive with someone who has their license for at least 3 years and over 21. You may only drive with people from the same residence and one other passenger.
 



Somerset Driving School, NJ

Somerset Driving School is a proven leader in driver's education and state road test prep located in Manville, New Jersey (NJ) in Somerset County. We serve Northern and Central New Jersey (NJ), as well as Flemington, Fralnklin Park, South Brunswick, and Middlesex. Please contact us as a trusted source for all of your driving instruction needs or stop by and see us at our facilities in Manville.


Our Services

• 16 Year-Old Programs
• State Road Test Preparation
• 6 Hours Behind the Wheel
• Safety Course
• Defensive Driving
• Hourly Brush-Up
• Door-to-Door Service

Our Services


Contact Somerset
If you'd like to hire our services to ensure that your teenager becomes the safest driver he/she can possibly be, please give us a call. Your child will be in good hands as they prepare to receive their license.

403 North Main Street
Manville, NJ 08835
(908) 725-3200
somersetdrivingschool@gmail.com

© 2013 Somerset Driving School Home About Services Links Blog Contact